Orpheus Conversion/Lip Thickening

f1steveuk

Orpheus Conversion/Lip Thickening

Post by f1steveuk »

There has been some discussion regarding the need to thicken the intake lip for the Orpheus conversion for 66/67, and a thought has occured to me (a rare event in itself). The yellow intake transit plugs, would they have fitted after the lips were thickened? Just trying to date exactly, when the work was done!!

There appears to be several pictures of the plugs in place, before the intakes were removed, after their collapse, and if there are any of them after re-installation, it might show if they had been reduced in size to fit. Like I said, just a thought!!
Steve Holter, UK and France, and sometimes reality....................
Renegadenemo

Re: Orpheus Conversion/Lip Thickening

Post by Renegadenemo »

There's a chance the plugs would fit just the same. They'd need a bit of jiggling but they'd likely go if they were pushed beyond the lip.
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.' W.C. Fields.
f1steveuk

Post by f1steveuk »

Ok. Where are the original plugs today!!??
Steve Holter, UK and France, and sometimes reality....................
Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

No idea. But I remember Robbie Robinson telling me about, I think it was Clive Glynn, sitting on the silpway on the 5th messing with the plugs and saying how they'd not be needing them again. Maybe Robbie knows where they went.

Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

That sounds about the same. Best ask Robbie. He's a chance to have them stashed away somewhere.

klingon

Post by klingon »

Mike Bull wrote:That's poor Robbie fending off anoraks left, right and centre then!