Wreck Location

Matt Smith

Wreck Location

Post by Matt Smith » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:31 am

Would the team confirm the location of the wreck where it was found and direction it was travelling at the time of the accident, the various footage(s) of the scene give little clues - or is it a closely guarded secret.

f1steveuk

Re: Wreck Location

Post by f1steveuk » Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:53 pm

Unless Futcher's map was considerably out, the direction would have been South to North, and as his divers found it in 1967 I would have thought there was little to be secretive about, although I have onlt ever seen one version of his map that actually had the latitude and longitude numbers left on.
Steve Holter, UK and France, and sometimes reality....................

Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo » Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:28 pm

The wreck was 200m south of the North timing post towards the East shore and nowhere near where Futcher's map said it ought to be!
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'Sometimes you gotta be an S.O.B if you wanna make a dream reality' Mark Knopfler

f1steveuk

Post by f1steveuk » Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:14 am

Being that they were Royal Navy, who sometimes have to fire very large guns at things, that's a tad worrying!
Steve Holter, UK and France, and sometimes reality....................

captain sparkle

Post by captain sparkle » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:19 pm

Renegadenemo wrote:The wreck was 200m south of the North timing post towards the East shore and nowhere near where Futcher's map said it ought to be!
Is there now a marker at this (or the crash) site?

malcolm uk

Post by malcolm uk » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:50 pm