Avro Vulcan XL319

fibo74

Avro Vulcan XL319

Post by fibo74 »

Starting a new thread specifically with regards to the work being undertaken on Vulcan XL319 based at Sunderland’s North East Land, Sea and Air Museum.
fibo74

Re: Avro Vulcan XL319

Post by fibo74 »

Link to the museum website and info specifically about the old girl: http://www.neam.co.uk/vulcan.html
Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

Ooh, good. I can waffle on endlessly in here about the finer points of o-rings and D-size piston pumps, how the rapid start uses a combustor and which spool drives which quill shaft.
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.' W.C. Fields.
fibo74

Post by fibo74 »

Renegadenemo wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:54 pm Ooh, good. I can waffle on endlessly in here about the finer points of o-rings and D-size piston pumps, how the rapid start uses a combustor and which spool drives which quill shaft.
Oh crikey - what have I done...
fibo74

Post by fibo74 »

Link to footage of XL319 landing at Sunderland:
mtskull

Post by mtskull »

Renegadenemo wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:54 pm Ooh, good. I can waffle on endlessly in here about the finer points of o-rings and D-size piston pumps, how the rapid start uses a combustor and which spool drives which quill shaft.
Get waffling then; I'm sure I am not the only one who eagerly awaits......
Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goals.
Mentallica

Post by Mentallica »

to be honest, from what I have seen from Twitter, I'm really interested.

Obviously it'll never fly again, but what is the ultimate goal with this one?

What a fantastic piece of kit to get dirty with.

off you go with the O rings discussion
Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

Obviously it'll never fly again, but what is the ultimate goal with this one?